Bristol Music Trust Board of Trustees

Bristol’s Music Trust is run by a board of Trustees who represent a wide cross-section of local, regional and national people with a background in business, music, law, finance and education.

The appointed members are:

Henry Kenyon (Chair) – In addition to being Chair of Trustees for Bristol Music Trust, Henry is the Chair of Trustees of The Ceylon School for the Deaf and Blind (UK Fund).

He is also an independent non-executive Director of Western Provident Association (Chair of Audit Committee), of Covea Insurance Limited (Chair of Investment Committee and Audit Committee), and of Sterling Insurance Limited (Chair of Audit Committee).

Previously a partner of 20 years with PriceWaterhouseCoopers, Henry has also held former positions as Vice Chair and Treasurer of CLICSargent Cancer Care for Children, and as Chairman of Board of Directors for Bristol Brunel Academy.

Michele Balfe – Employment lawyer with additional expertise in charity law and governance.

Marti Burgess – Solicitor at Gregg Latchams. Marti has been a solicitor for over 12 years, specialising in commercial and intellectual property law. Marti is also the owner of Bristol nightclub Lakota, and teaches Music Law to students on the BA (Hons) Music Industry Management Course at the Bristol Institute of Modern Music.

Simon Chapman – Retired as the senior audit partner for PricewaterhouseCoopers in the West and Wales having spent over 30 years with the firm. He is Chair of the BMT ARRC Audit Committee.

Paul Fordham – Director of Way Art West, an arts development company that works in touring, programming and education, specialising in working with hard to reach Black and Asian communities.

Marie McCluskey – Former Director of Swindon Dance. Marie held a national role in developing youth dance and has been awarded an MBE for services to dance.

Sir Brian McMaster – Joined EMI Records as a member of their International Classical Division. In 1973 he went to English National Opera as Controller of Opera Planning and three years later joined Welsh National Opera as Managing Director, where he remained until 1991. During the period 1984 to 1989 he was also Artistic Director of Vancouver Opera. Brian was Director of the Edinburgh International Festival from 1991 to 2006.

Sonia Mills  – Sonia spent her career in the NHS which included several CEO level posts with NHS Oxfordshire, Swindon Marlborough NHS Trust and latterly CEO for North Bristol NHS Trust responsible for the development of the new Southmead Hospital. She has a degree from Cambridge in Natural Sciences and an MSc from Bristol University in Public Policy Studies. Based in Bristol she now continues to coach senior managers and also has several Governor and trustee roles including Governor at Colston Girls School and is on the Board of Governors for UWE. She is chair of BMT Capital Fundraising Group.

Andrew Nisbet – Founder and Chairman of Nisbets plc, the UK’s largest supplier of catering equipment, based in Bristol. Andrew served as High Sheriff of Bristol for 2012/13.

James Wetz – James has worked for over 30 years in state education, 16 of these as a secondary school Head teacher. He is the current chair of the Centre for Social Policy linked to the Social Research Centre at Dartington, and chairs ‘The Green House Bristol’. He serves on the Governing Body of Bristol University, is a trustee of the Richard Feilden Foundation and a co- founder of he Consortium for Emotional Wellbeing in Schools.  James was previously the Chair of Trustees of the Wiltshire Music Centre and his publications include ‘Urban Village Schools’ and a Channel 4 Dispatches programme, ‘The Children left behind’.

Cllr Estella TincknellEstella represents Bristol City Council on the BMT Board. She is Councillor for the Lockleaze ward, is deputy Leader of the Labour Group, and Deputy Mayor with responsibility for arts & culture. Estella is also Associate Professor of Film & Culture at UWE.

We’re building a
venue for Bristol